Charlie Day and Burn Gorman reprise their roles as Newt and Hermann in the sequel to Guillermo Del Toro’s Pacific Rim, Pacific Rim Uprising. In the ten years that have passed between films, the two friends have gone in different directions, but at the same time, haven’t really changed. The two actors discuss what their characters are up to, Charlie Day’s unused musical score for the film, and whether or not they’d want to pilot a Jaeger.

SR: First of all, this film’s a lot of fun and you keep your characters both Hermann and Newt are at different places then they were in the last film. Without giving too much away, what do those guys think which other leading into this next film?

SR: Who’s smarter? Herman or Newt?

Charlie Day: I think they respect each one another going in a second film still but they’ve gone their separate ways, and they’re not really in very much communication until the events of the story happen and they’re forced together again.

Burn Gorman: Yeah. There’s a resonance from the first really more ways than one, and certainly, for my character, he’s actually, you know, that resonance stays with him mentally, and I think he misses Newt, to be honest.

Charlie Day: I think my character, he wants to pull completely away from the life that he had before, and Herman is a reminder that he does not want of who he is, and who he should be, and it creates a lot of conflict for Newt.

SR: Burn, what is what is Herman do on his off time?

Burn Gorman: Definitely, Herman.

Charlie Day: Newt, of course.

Both: (Laugh)

Charlie Day: It’s gotta be Newt.

Burn Gorman: That’s a good question.

SR: If Hermann and Newt word to jump Jaeger together would they be drift compatible?

Burn Gorman: He hasn’t got much of a much of a social life, I can assure you that. You know, I did think he ’s made a bit of an effort with what he wears or at least he’s also somebody just to get him some clothes.

Charlie Day: You think? I feel like he’s in the same outfit.

Burn Gorman: His shirts are a little bit more ironed and his socks kind of match this time. But he hasn’t got, there’s not a lot going on, my friend. No.

Charlie Day: Right.

SR: Charlie, I have a question for you. Any update on the next season of Always Sunny?

Burn Gorman: Yeah I mean…

Charlie Day: Sadly yes. I mean, I think it would be a bickering Jaeger that sort of like just argues.

Burn Gorman:  Just argues. Yeah.

Charlie Day: Just argues with the other Jaegers.

SR: As fans of the Pacific Rim franchise, where would you like to see your characters go next and what would you like to do differently in the next one?

Charlie Day: Sure! I’m writing it right now and we’ve got some hilarious episodes in the works and I guarantee another funny year of Sunny that is familiar with the last 12 years.

SR: I saw that you (Charlie Day) wrote a couple songs that weren’t used in the Pacific Rim Uprising uh…

Burn Gorman: I’d like to operate a Jaeger. I mean, really, it’s never going to happen, I don’t think. Yeah.

Charlie Day: Right? Yeah. That would have been fun.

Burn Gorman: I’d love to get into one of those. Except when they’re practically filming, it’s you know seventeen hour days in one of those suits isn’t it? We’ve managed to avoid that so far.

Charlie Day:  It’s the thing that seems fun on paper and when you see the movie but it’s probably not fun at all to actually film.

Burn Gorman: To actually do. Yeah.

SR: Alright, We’ll see… You probably sue?

Charlie Day: That’s true. I did most of the theme music but I think they didn’t use any of it, um, so we’ll see. I’ll probably sue.

SR: Where do you think your character (Burn Gorman) specifically is going to go with the new relationship kind of develops with with another character in this film? His new employer.

Charlie Day: I’ll probably sue them. Yeah.

Everyone: (Laughs)

MORE: Scott Eastwood Pacific Rim Uprising Interview

Burn Gorman: I think any relationship with Hermann is a complex, you know, endeavor so I thought in this one he’s grown a little bit. He’s learned that you do have to communicate with other human beings, you know, and he misses his old friend and I think he feels time passing as well, and to that, kind of adds to some of the momentum of his obsession with getting this thing, you know, solved and such. It’s quite nice to play that.

  • Pacific Rim: Uprising Release Date: 2018-03-23